SCI-ART LAB

Science, Art, Litt, Science based Art & Science Communication

Q: Ma'am, I am a science student. I want to  write on science like you do. You make things simple and easy to comprehend. What is the trick?  

Krishna:  I already wrote on this - a series of articles on science communication. But still I will answer your Q here. 

Before starting to write, you should first identify the target group.

Are you writing for the high end group like the scientists and science literates?

Scientists publish their work in science journals with all the data and statistics and in a language that seems like Greek and Latin to the man on the street even if he is  literate. Then think about the situation of illiterates. To a large section of people, these science journals don't exist at all!

These journals are used by scientists to communicate their work only to their colleagues in their field.

Then there are people who understand science a little because they are science students or science enthusiasts. They have a little knowledge in science and therefore can comprehend even if the write up is a bit complicated. 

Finally we have people who don't know anything about science. This group is the biggest of all. Writing for them is a bit tricky. You have to completely remove jargon from your write-up, no  'sciency-looking' things because these things intimidate them. 

I am a member of several social  networks where some scientists, professors, research scholars and post-docs write. Now majority of the people who read these write-ups, answers and blogs are common people who belong to the third category I mentioned above. Forgetting this, the writers try to show their 'scholarliness', using all the jargon,  equations, references and all their 'skills'. They look good for the first category of people but the second and third ones usually don't even try to read them.